The Porter Prize HomeRemembering Dr. KimpelAbout the Porter PrizeThe Porter Prize Winners
Dr. Ben Drew Kimpel

Established in 1984, the Porter Fund Literary Prize is a non-profit organization supporting Arkansas writers and poets.
The Porter Prize was founded in honor of Dr. Ben Kimpel.

Watch the 35th Anniversary of the Porter Prize Gala Video

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award

Jo McDougall  

2020 Porter Prize Winner Announced

Geffrey Davis Poetry

The Porter Fund offers an annual $4,000 scholarship to a student in the University of Central Arkansas MFA Creative Writing Program

2014 - 2018 scholarship winners

Heather Breed Steadham  2014-2017  
Rachel Hoge 2017-2018

All contributions are tax-deductible and can be made by contacting Phillip McMath at (501) 396-5416.

Co-founders of the Porter Fund are Jack Butler and Phillip McMath.

The Porter Fund Board of Directors:

Jack Butler
Phillip McMath
Jo McDougall
Hope Coulter
Hon. Morris Arnold
Grif Stockley
Werner Trieschmann
Trenton Lee Stewart

Remembering Dr. Kimpel | The Prize | The Prize Winners