The Porter Prize Home
Porter Prize HomeRemembering Dr. KimpelThe Porter Prize Winners

Dr. Ben Drew Kimpel

The Porter Prize

The Porter Fund Literary Prize is presented annually to an Arkansas writer who has accomplished a substantial and impressive body of work that merits enhanced recognition. The $2000 prize makes it one of the state's most lucrative as well as prestigious literary awards. Eligibility requires an Arkansas connection. Honorees tend to be writers without high-profile national reputations, but who have produced significant amounts of quality material.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given every 5 years and is for $2000.

The 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Charles Portis.
The 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Miller Williams.
The 2004 Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Donald Harington.

Home | Remembering Dr. Kimpel | The Prize Winners